SVX welcomes Anumeet Chepal to the family

SVX
3 min readJul 14, 2021

--

SVX is happy to welcome Anumeet Chepal to the SVX family as an Advisory Analyst. We’re delighted to have her join the team!

Anumeet graduated from the UBC Sauder School of Business in 2021. Throughout her university journey, she was a part of a student-led impact investing fund called the Vancouver Social Value Fund (VSVF). As a part of the VSVF, Anumeet was able to collaborate with the Vancouver community to create and support impact investing deals.

Anumeet has joined the SVX team as an Advisory Analyst where she helps social purpose entrepreneurs, investors and other community partners establish investment opportunities.

When you were ten (10) years old, what did you want to be when you grew up?

When I was 10 years old I wanted to be a Chartered Accountant. My interest in accounting was my first introduction to business. During my time at Sauder, I had the opportunity to be exposed to various industries. It was at a networking event where I discovered social finance and impact investing. I was immediately drawn to how seamlessly we can combine meaningful impact with traditional business.

What SDG is most important to you and why?

No Poverty (SDG 1), Zero Hunger (SDG 2), and Clean Water and Sanitation (SDG 6) are goals that are most important to me. These are fundamental requirements for simply surviving. If we can ensure that communities around the world have access to clean food and water along with a safe and decent home, then we can start to tackle the other urgent issues we face.

What is the last book you read (that wasn’t about impact investing)?

Currently, I am revisiting a personal favourite: “Ego is the Enemy” by Ryan Holiday. It’s a great book that leaves me with new discoveries with each read. Holiday has a useful approach to tackling the ego by using concepts of stoicism and various examples from some of history’s great leaders. I would recommend it to anyone who feels that they are at the highest peak, or the lowest valley in their life.

Who is one person you admire in the world of impact investing and/or social and environmental justice?

I wouldn’t have considered a career in impact investing if I hadn’t met Steve Petterson at a networking event in my second year at Sauder. Steve introduced me to the Vancouver Social Value Fund (VSVF) and to the world of impact investing. He gave me the opportunity to join the high-performing team where we were able to collaborate and invest in real social enterprises. This was a powerful experience for me, especially as a university student. I know I wouldn’t be where I am today in my career without that unique experience.

Why is impact investing important to you?

In my opinion, impact investing is the perfect bridge of prioritizing impact and traditional financial returns. In this industry, incentives for all stakeholders are aligned to ensure that the needs of the people, community and planet are prioritized all while operating a profitable business. I believe that collectively, we will greatly benefit from both more social enterprises and impact investors.

--

--

SVX

SVX is a financial services firm & impact investing platform connecting ventures, funds, and investors to catalyze investment capital for impact. #ImpInv#SocEnt